gardenhive.com

USA Best Selling Books by Christopher Lloyd from Amazon USA

The Well-Tempered Garden (Horticulture Garden Classic)
picture
Features:-
Wisdom and advice from a legendary gardener.
List Price: $18.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $15.55   
Read reviews
 
By: Lyons Press.   1997-07-01

Meadows
picture
Features:-
In Meadows, Christopher Lloyd explores the development and management of established meadow areas, ways of starting from scratch in a garden setting, and the hundreds of beautiful grasses, bulbs, and colorful perennials that thrive in different conditions. Lloyd's own experimental prairie is a springboard to discussing North American prairies and the plants that provide swathes of color in late summer and interest into winter. Filled with hundreds of specially commissioned photographs, this book provides a captivating guide for anyone wishing to preserve pasture lands, cultivate native species, and attract wildlife.
List Price: $29.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $99.95   
Read reviews
 
By: Timber Press, Incorporated.   2004-06-01

The Well-tempered Garden
picture
Features:-
A classic work by Britain's most highly respected plantsman, updated for the 21st Century. This is the classic work by a gardener who combines a passionate love of his subject with a critical intelligence and a good helping of wit. THE WELL-TEMPERED GARDEN is packed with the sort of information keen gardeners crave - from planting, weeding and the pleasures of propagation to annuals, water-lilies and worthwhile vegetables. Hailed as 'a really important addition to horticultural literature' when it was first published, THE WELL-TEMPERED GARDEN is as fresh and enlightening, and as entertaining, for gardeners in the 21st century as when it first appeared more than thirty years ago.

Amazon’s Lowest Price: $24.20   
Read reviews
 
By: Weidenfeld Nicolson Illustrated.   2003-02-13

The View from Great Dixter: Christopher Lloyd's Garden Legacy
picture
Features:-
Expansive herbaceous borders, orchid-filled meadows enveloped by old stone, precision-carved topiary, and an air of gentle eccentricity make Great Dixter the quintessential English country garden. Yet the impact of Christopher Lloyd’s unique creation extends way beyond the gardening world and affects all who pass through it in a very particular way.

In this intimate collection of written and photographic contributions, Christopher Lloyd’s wide circle of family and friends describe what Great Dixter means to them. Food, poetry, music and plants feature large with one guest recounting the delight of eating an exquisitely cooked turbot and another how a bloom of magnolia was analyzed with botanical precision during the course of dinner. Visitors remember the feel of the centuries-old floorboards underfoot, the thrill of waking early to peer out on topiary enshrouded in fog, and many describe how, in one way or another, Great Dixter changed their lives.

This valuable record encapsulates what makes time spent at Great Dixter in particular, and to some extent time spent in all gardens, so irreplaceable. It adds an important layer to our understanding of Christopher Lloyd’s achievements and spurs us on to new heights in our own gardening endeavors.


List Price: $27.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $9.98   
Read reviews
 
By: Timber Press.   2010-10-31

The Cottage Garden
picture
Features:-
The cottage garden--a paradise of scented flowers--has a special place in the hearts of gardeners everywhere. This handsome volume traces the development of the cottage garden through Christopher Lloyd's elegant prose and specially commissioned photography, evoking the charm of the garden in all its beautiful variety.
List Price: $29.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $53.40   
Read reviews
 
By: John Wiley & Sons Inc.   1990-08

Cuttings: A Year in the Garden with Christopher Lloyd (Pimlico)
picture
Features:-
In the tradition of Gertude Jekyll and Vita Sackville-West, Christopher Lloyd established an English country garden at Great Dixter in East Sussex, where he not only demonstrated his bold ideas but also wrote the books and journalism that profoundly influenced generations of garden-lovers. He constantly reshaped and replanted his garden at Great Dixter, because, as he said: "We don't want to be wishy-washy on the fence." He loved color, praising "extra oomph" and "the immense value of red" - and he hated fashion ("that awful phrase, good taste"). This selection from his columns in the Guardian reflects his passions and challenges, his eagerness to experiment, his appetites, and his prodigious knowledge as a plantsman. His journalism is as vigorous as his gardening style -advising, entertaining, and cajoling his readers as he guides them through the gardening year. Arranged to cover the seasons from January to December, this magical book will delight all who love good gardening and good writing.
 
 
List Price: $39.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $14.61   
Read reviews
 
By: Random House UK.   2008-04-03

The Well-tempered Garden: New and Revised Edition (Penguin gardening)
picture
Features:-
This is Christopher Lloyd's best-known book. His famous gardens at Great Dixter draw people from around the world. His name is kept in the forefront of people's minds with constant media exposure including his weekly articles for Country Life, written since 1963 without an issue missed.
List Price: $14.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $53.34   
Read reviews
 
By: Penguin Books.   1988-05-03

Meadows at Great Dixter and Beyond (A Pimpernel Garden Classic)
picture
Features:-
To see a meadow in bloom is a great delight—it’s alive and teeming with life, mysterious, dynamic and seemingly out of our control . . .

So Christopher Lloyd began his book on meadows, first published in 2004. No one knew more about meadow gardening than Lloyd, who spent much of his long life developing the flowering tapestries in his garden at Great Dixter, in the UK. In Meadows, he imparted that lifetime’s learning, exploring the development and management of meadow areas, explaining how to establish a meadow in a garden setting, and describing the hundreds of beautiful grasses, bulbs, and perennials and annuals that thrive in different meadow conditions. Lloyd's classic text remains at the heart of this new book. However, here Fergus Garrett, Christopher Lloyd's head gardener and his successor at Great Dixter, greatly expands and develops the theme of meadow gardening. Garrett's introduction is accompanied by brand new photography by Carol Casselden. This edition is completely redesigned.
List Price: $45.00
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $22.82   
Read reviews
 
By: Pimpernel Press.   2016-06-01

The Well Tempered Garden
picture


Amazon’s Lowest Price:   
Read reviews
 
By: Viking.   1985

Dear Friend and Gardener: Letters on Life and Gardening
picture
Features:-
In this exchange of personal letters two of Britain's leading gardeners - Christopher Lloyd and Beth Chatto - share their successes and failures, and learn from each other's experiences in their two very different gardens.
List Price: $29.95
Amazon’s Lowest Price: $5.99   
Read reviews
 
By: Frances Lincoln.   2013-10-13


 

UK Amazon

USA Amazon