gardenhive.com

UK Most Popular Books on Life Genetics from Amazon UK

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
picture

List Price: 25.00
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £11.16   
Read reviews
 
By: Bodley Head.   2017-05-25

The Gene: An Intimate History
picture

List Price: 10.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £4.17   
Read reviews
 
By: Vintage.   2017-03-23

The Selfish Gene: 40th Anniversary edition (Oxford Landmark Science)
picture
Features:-
The million copy international bestseller, critically acclaimed and translated into over 25 language....
List Price: 9.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £3.69   
Read reviews
 
By: OUP Oxford.   2016-06-09

A Crack in Creation: The New Power to Control Evolution
picture

List Price: 20.00
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £8.79   
Read reviews
 
By: Bodley Head.   2017-06-15

Behave: The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst
picture
Features:-
A ground-breaking synthesis of the entire science of human behaviour by 'one of the best scientist-writers of our time' (Oliver Sacks) -- 'It’s no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I’ve ever read' Wall Street Journal

Why do we do what we do? Behave is at once a dazzling tour and a majestic synthesis of the whole science of human behaviour. Brought to life through simple language, engaging stories and irreverent wit, it offers the fullest picture yet of the origins of tribalism and xenophobia, hierarchy and competition, morality and free will, war and peace.

Robert Sapolsky’s ingenious method is to move backwards in time from the moment at which a behaviour occurs, layer by layer through the myriad influences that led to it:

- We begin with the split-second reactions of the brain and nervous system…
- Then we consider our response to sight, sound and smell in the minutes and seconds beforehand…
- Next he explains the interactions of hormones, which prime our behaviour in the preceding hours and days…
- He proceeds through the experiences of adolescence, childhood and foetal development that shape us over our lifespans…
- And continues over centuries and millennia through the profound influences of genetic inheritance, cultural context and ultimately the evolutionary origins of our species.

Throughout, Sapolsky considers the most important question: what causes acts of aggression or compassion? What inspires us to terrible deeds and what might help foster our best behaviour?

Wise, humane, often very funny, Behave is a towering achievement, powerfully humanizing, that is unlikely to be surpassed for many years.
List Price: 12.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price:   
Read reviews
 
By: Vintage Digital.   2017-05-25

Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight and Find Your Path Back to Health
picture
Features:-

Renowned cardiologist William Davis explains how eliminating wheat from our diets can prevent fat storage, shrink unsightly bulges and reverse myriad health problems.

Every day we eat food products made of wheat. As a result millions of people experience some form of adverse health effect, ranging from minor rashes and high blood sugar to the unattractive stomach bulges that preventative cardiologist William Davis calls ‘wheat bellies’. According to Davis, that fat has nothing to do with gluttony, sloth or too much butter: it’s down to the whole grain food products so many people eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

After witnessing over 2,000 patients regain their health after giving up wheat, Davis reached the disturbing conclusion that wheat is the single largest contributor to the nationwide obesity epidemic - and its elimination is key to dramatic weight loss and optimal health.

In Wheat Belly Davis exposes the harmful effects of what is actually a product of genetic tinkering being sold to the public as ‘wheat’ and provides readers with a user-friendly, step-by-step plan to navigate a new, wheat-free lifestyle. Benefits include: substantial weight loss, correction of cholesterol abnormalities, relief from arthritis, mood benefits and prevention of heart disease.

Informed by cutting-edge science and nutrition, and numerous case studies, Wheat Belly is an illuminating look at what is truly making us sick.

List Price: 1.49
Amazon’s Lowest Price:   
Read reviews
 
By: HarperCollins.   2014-06-19

A Brief History of Everyone Who Ever Lived: The Stories in Our Genes
picture

List Price: 20.00
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £10.16   
Read reviews
 
By: W&N.   2016-09-08

The Epigenetics Revolution: How Modern Biology is Rewriting Our Understanding of Genetics, Disease and Inheritance
picture
Features:-
Why can identical twins develop different diseases like schizophrenia? Why are tortoiseshell cats always female? Why was Audrey Hepburn so delicately beautiful? Why do we age, develop disease or become addicted to drugs? Astonishingly, the answers to all these questions lie in epigenetics. The fasting moving field in biology today, it has at its heart the realisation that cells read genetic code more like a script to be interpreted than a blueprint that replicates the same result each time. Biologist Nessa Carey deftly takes us through the thrilling developments epigenetics has undergone in recent years, explores the far-reaching consequences it has for our understanding of life, and reveals the amazing possibilities that epigenetics holds for each of us in the surprisingly near future. A fascinating and thought-provoking book that will teach you all you need to know about DNA and genetics. This paperback book has 340 pages and measures: 19.7 x 12.7 x 2cm.
List Price: 9.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £1.99   
Read reviews
 
By: Icon Books.   2012-03-01

The Vital Question: Why is life the way it is?
picture
Features:-
Why is life the way it is? Bacteria evolved into complex life just once in four billion years of life on earth-and all complex life shares many strange properties, from sex to ageing and death. If life evolved on other planets, would it be the same or completely different? In The Vital Question, Nick Lane radically reframes evolutionary history, putting forward a cogent solution to conundrums that have troubled scientists for decades. The answer, he argues, lies in energy: how all life on Earth lives off a voltage with the strength of a bolt of lightning. In unravelling these scientific enigmas, making sense of life's quirks, Lane's explanation provides a solution to life's vital questions: why are we as we are, and why are we here at all? This is ground-breaking science in an accessible form, in the tradition of Charles Darwin's The Origin of Species, Richard Dawkins' The Selfish Gene, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs and Steel.
List Price: 9.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price: £4.84   
Read reviews
 
By: Profile Books.   2016-04-07

The Gene: An Intimate History
picture
Features:-
Selected as a Book of the Year by The New York Times, The Economist, Independent, Observer and Mail on Sunday

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WELLCOME BOOK PRIZE 2017

‘Dramatic and precise… [A] thrilling and comprehensive account of what seems certain to be the most radical, controversial and, to borrow from the subtitle, intimate science of our time… He is a natural storyteller… A page-turner… Read this book and steel yourself for what comes next’
Bryan Appleyard, Sunday Times

The Gene is the story of one of the most powerful and dangerous ideas in our history, from bestselling, prize-winning author Siddhartha Mukherjee.

Spanning the globe and several centuries, The Gene is the story of the quest to decipher the master-code that makes and defines humans, that governs our form and function.

This is an epic, moving history of a scientific idea coming to life, by the author of The Emperor of All Maladies. But woven through The Gene, like a red line, is also an intimate history – the story of Mukherjee’s own family and its recurring pattern of mental illness, reminding us that genetics is vitally relevant to everyday lives. These concerns reverberate even more urgently today as we learn to “read” and “write” the human genome – unleashing the potential to change the fates and identities of our children.

The story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856 where a monk stumbles on the idea of a ‘unit of heredity’. It intersects with Darwin’s theory of evolution, and collides with the horrors of Nazi eugenics in the 1940s. The gene transforms post-war biology. It reorganizes our understanding of sexuality, temperament, choice and free will. This is a story driven by human ingenuity and obsessive minds – from Charles Darwin and Gregor Mendel to Francis Crick, James Watson and Rosalind Franklin, and the thousands of scientists still working to understand the code of codes.

Majestic in its ambition, and unflinching in its honesty, The Gene gives us a definitive account of the fundamental unit of heredity – and a vision of both humanity’s past and future.
List Price: 5.99
Amazon’s Lowest Price:   
Read reviews
 
By: Vintage Digital.   2016-06-02


 

UK Amazon

USA Amazon